3 comments on “The Campaign Mode in Games

  1. I agree with you 100% While I am a huge fan of multiplayer, especially multiplayer games like Battlefield, I am also a fan of great story telling. If you ask me what are some of my favorite videogames of all time, the list would look like this:

    – Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time
    – KOTOR
    – Red Dead Redemption
    – Mario RPG
    – Mass Effect
    – Jade Empire

    Those are all games with a core emphasis on single player story over mutliplayer.

    I mentioned that I like to play Battlefield when it comes to multiplayer but I have to admit that I am glad that they [DICE] are actually giving the story A LOT of work and attention in Battlefield 3 and I’m interested into seeing how it all comes out.

    As for multiplayer becoming the focus for the Developers, I don’t think it started with COD. I really believe it started in 2003 the year after Xbox Live launched and now online gaming was introduced to the console world. Suddenly developers wanted to play with this new toy called XBL so it seemed like all of their games had a core XBL focus and a small single player/offline focus. The trend continued with the success of Halo 2 in 2004 and it has been a snowball effect since then.

    Nice article!
    🙂

    • Thanks!

      Yeah, XBL started it all. And I need to get my hands on Mass Effect. I always say that I’m gonna rent it at least, but never get the opportunity to do so

  2. Mass effect with its fantastic story and lack of multiplayer proves the exception to the rule. And it does this exceptionally well! I recommend you go get that ASAP.

    Great article as always.

Leave a Reply

